Wolf Point Herald

Wolf Point Girls Make Top 10

Wolf Point’s Shelby Hanks, Ashley Page and Kateri Rush were invited to the Top 10 Meet in Glasgow Tuesday, May 6.
“It’s quite an honor to be in the Top 10. These athletes are the best from Class A, B and C in the northern and eastern part of the state,” head coach RC Page said.
Individual results were as follows.
Hanks: fifth place tie, high jump, 4-06.00.
Page: 10th, long jump, 14-01.50.
Rush: eighth, 300 meter hurdles, 55.25.

Hits: 335

Lady Wolves Host Final Home Tennis Meet

HN.5.8.14.SP.TENNIS 6205-WEBHN.5.8.14.SP.TENNIS 6196-WEBHN.5.8.14.SP.TENNIS 6197-WEB

Pictured are Wolf Point's Mandi Martin, Tavie Reum and Kendra Landsrud.

The Lady Wolves hosted Chinook for the final home meet of the season Saturday, May 3.
In singles: Carry Vandall lost 3-8 and 1-6; Sierra Hanks lost 1-8 and 2-6; Tavie Reum lost 1-8 and 2-8; Kendra Landsrud lost 2-8 and 1-6; Mandi Martin lost 4-8; and Mary Clark lost 7-8.
In doubles: Reum and Landsrud lost 5-8; Charlene Allmer and Taylor Hamilton lost 0-8; Hanks and Vandall won 6-1; and Martin and Hamilton lost 0-6.
“Even though we only won one match this weekend, I am extremely proud of my girls and they improved from the week before,” Coach Nicole Boos said.
“There are some things we still need to work on, and we will be concentrating on them for the next two weeks so we are ready for divisionals in Baker,” she said.
“Chinook has a very competitive and strong team this year and it is teams like that, that will only make our girls better,” Boos said.

Hits: 480

Wolves, Indians Golf

At Harlem Friday, May 2, T’Elle Evans shot a 96 for the Wolves’ golf team and took girls’ first place. The top boys were Nathaniel Paine, 110; and Adam Weinberger, 138.
“My golfers played very well considering the rain and cold conditions. It was the first time these golfers had played the Harlem course, so it was a learn as you go and I was very proud of how they adapted and played through the conditions,” coach Rodney Paulson said.
At Plentywood Wednesday, April 30, Evans also took girls’ first place with a 92. Paine tied for 15th with  115. Cale Evans and Jeremy Birkoski each shot 130, and Weinberger shot 132.
“On a windy day of 20 to 30 MPH wind, the golfers played good. This was the first time they had played the Plentywood course,” Paulson said.
Wolf Point next plays at the Malta Mustang Invitational Wednesday, May 7.
At Harlem, Poplar’s Lyndsey Young shot a 136 for a 10th-place finish.

Hits: 472

Poplar Indians Track Team Competes At Glendive Elks Track And Field Meet

The following are the Poplar results from the Glendive Elks Track and Field Meet held at Dawson County High School in Glendive.
The Poplar boys finished in 15th place with 2 points and the girls finished in 13th place with 5 points.
200 meter
Myltin Bighorn, 15th, 25.76; Jeffrey Berger, 17th, 26.33.
800 meter
Orlando Young, seventh, 2:24.06; Richard Brown, 18th, 2:49.92.
1600 meter
Brown, 11th, 6:36.41.
300 hurdles
Bighorn, 46.96; Brent Lester, seventh, 48.04.
100 relay
Poplar ‘A’, 10th, 50.20.
Shot put
Daniel DeHerrera, 10th, 39-04.50; Sheridan Stranger Horse, 12th, 36-00.50; William Prichard, 14th, 35-10.50; Daniel Orcutt, 15th, 35-06.50; AJ Hollom, 23rd, 34-02.00.
Stranger Horse, eighth, 114-06; DeHerrera, 11th, 107-09; Andrew Moran, 20th, 82-06; Orcutt, 24th, 78-09.
Young, 12th, 127-06; Stranger Horse, 15th, 122.02; Lester, 17th, 121.11.

100 meter
Kylee Stump, ninth 14.56.
200 meter
JenEtte Standing, 13th, 32.12; Emily Hagadone, 14th, 32.54.
800 meter
Brittany Whiteman, 10th, 3:03.88.
3200 meter
Drew Ruem, sixth,14:10.42.
Shawna Hagadone, fourth. 91-04; Jessica Pipe, 17th, 69-11.
Shot put
Shawna Hagadone, 12th, 28-08.00; Caitlyn Whiteman, 16th, 23-04.00; Janaeya Sutherland, 17th, 22-09.50; Pipe, 18th, 22-08.00.
Shawna Hagadone, 16th, 79-07; Standing, 17th, 73-02.

Hits: 1183

WPJH Track Team Places In Miles City

Wolf Point Junior High track team went to Miles City Meet on May 3.
Sixth- and seventh-grade boys finished ninth overall with six team points.
100 relay: fourth, 57.00, Cade Baker, Bryor Smith, Nick Page, Micah Solberg.
800 relay: third, 2:05.45, Baker, Smith, Page, Solberg.
Sixth- and seventh-grade girls finished fifth overall with 26 team points.
1600 meter: Journey Erickson, second, 6:03.53.
100 relay: fifth, 1:00.94, Abby Juve, Paisley Ferdina, Kassie Kirkaldie, Semarah Wells.
800 relay: second, 2:14.42, Lauren Crawford, Ferdina, Juve, Erickson.
800 meter: Erickson, third, 2:50.88.
200 meter: Wells, third, 30.69.
Discus: Hailey Brunelle, fifth, 62-4.
High jump: Juve, third, 4-2.
Eighth-grade boys finished in fourth place in team points with 22 points, only two points short of third.
1600 meter: Marques Whitehorse, first, 5:17.96.
800 relay: third, 1:56.52, Leslie Hawk, Jeremy Red Dog Jr., Cole Grandchamp, Whitehorse.
200 meter: Grandchamp, fifth, 31:12.0.
Discus: Leslie Hawk, fourth, 107-8.
Long jump: Grandchamp, fifth, 14-3.
High jump: Whitehorse, second, 5-0.
Eighth-grade girls finished third in team points with 43, five points short of second place.
1600 meter: Summers, first, 5:52.38.
800 relay: first, 2:08.09, Ayanna Archdale, Brenna Kurokawa, Jaki Harada, Sierra Summers.
800 meter: Summers, first, 2:40.62.
200 meter: Kurokawa, second, 30.72.
1600 relay: first, 4:53.1, Erickson, Harada, Crawford, Summers.
Discus: Jaymee Stiffarm, third, 69-2; Amandalaura Weeks-Combs, fifth, 68-2.

Hits: 515