Wolf Point Herald

Lady Wolves Start Season 2-0

The Lady Wolves opened the season 2-0 after posting two big wins over Forsyth and Huntley Project at the Huntley Project Tip Off Tournament Friday, Dec. 9.

Hits: 80

Read more: Lady Wolves Start Season 2-0

Short-Handed Wolves Struggle At Glasgow With Just Five Wrestlers

Wolf Point’s Trisetan Kemp has control of Glasgow’s Jacob Meires in the first match. Kemp won a decision. (Photo by John Plestina)

Injuries and absent wrestlers left Wolf Point with just five competitors to take to a meet in Glasgow Friday and Saturday, Dec. 9-10.

Hits: 79

Read more: Short-Handed Wolves Struggle At Glasgow With Just Five Wrestlers

Local Grapplers Open Season At Sidney

The Wolf Point Wolves, Frazer Bearcubs and Poplar Indians opened the wrestling season at the Eagle Invitational in Sidney Dec. 2-3.

Hits: 450

Read more: Local Grapplers Open Season At Sidney

Rocky Erickson To Emcee New Gym Floor Dedication Dec. 15

Montana radio personality and Wolf Point High School alum Rocky Erickson will emcee the dedication of WPHS’s new gym floor before the Wolves 2B District conference opener against Poplar Dec. 15.

Hits: 531

Read more: Rocky Erickson To Emcee New Gym Floor Dedication Dec. 15

Wolf Point And Circle Girls Compete In Gymnastics

Circle’s Eastern Montana Gymnastics team began their 2016-17 competitive season at the Turkey Tumbler Gymnastics Meet on Nov. 12-13 in Valley City, N.D.
Because of various conflicts, only seven of the 13 EMG gymnasts competed at the meet. The level three girls were awarded the third-place trophy in the first session of that level, with TNT Gymnastics of Fargo at first and Valley City Twisters at second.
The meet was the first competitive meet for four gymnasts: Ava Redstone of Wolf Point and Dalaney Mothershead of Circle in level two and Shelica (Shay) Deserly and Jillian Deserly, both of Wolf Point, in level three. It was also the first level three meet for Killian Mitchell of Circle, who competed in level two last year.
In level three, Mitchell competed in the seven to nine and a half age group with 12 gymnasts and was tied for sixth on vault. Shay Deserly and Jillian Deserly were in the 9.6 and up age group of nine gymnasts. The best event for the rookies was vault, where Shay Deserly was tied for third and Jillian Deserly was fifth.
The level two meet was very disappointing as the EMG gymnasts were the only gymnasts in that session so they competed only against themselves. Adalyn Murphy of Circle led her team in the all-around, vault and floor and was second on beam. Redstone came in second for her all-around and was first on bars and beam and second on floor. Kaitlyn Thoeny of Circle was second on vault and floor and Mothershead was second on beam.
Level three scores (vault, bars, beam, floor, all-around): Mitchell (8.5, 6.875, 6.2, 6.625, 28.2), S. Deserly (8.85, 6.65, 4.8, 7.0, 27.3), J. Deserly (8.8, 6.05, 5.35, 7.0, 27.2).
Level two scores: Murphy (8.7, 7.05, 7.0, 8.3, 31.05), Redstone (7.0, 8.45, 7.5, 7.0, 29.95), Thoeny (8.0, 7.3, 7.0, 7.4, 29.7), Mothershead (7.6, 8.2, 6.4, 6.4, 28.6).
Gymnasts who did not compete for EMG in Valley City were Erin Kelly and Nikki Bieber, both of Circle, in level two; Lina Smith and Izabel Leach, both of Richey, and Kirsten Wagner of Circle in level three; and Sierra Nagle of Circle in level four.
The next meet will be in Dickinson, N.D. in December. The EMG team also has meets in Billings in January and Great Falls in February before the Montana state meet in Helena in March.


Hits: 302