Wolf Point Herald

Skills And Drills


The Basketball Skills and Drills camp for first- through fourth-grade boys and girls was held July 14-16, on the new hardwood gym floor at Frontier Elementary School. Pictured are Ryan Sanchez (left) and Xavier Nasner passing the ball back and fourth as part of a drill. Coaches Steph Neubauer is at left rear and Scott Nasner is at right rear. Three additional Skills and Drills camps are planned at Frontier Wednesday through Friday, July 29-31: fifth- through seventh- grade girls, fifth- and sixth-grade boys, and seventh- through ninth-grade boys. An eighth- and ninth-grade girls’ camp was held earlier this month.   (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 85

Carpet Replaced By Hard Wood


Thirty-four years after it was installed, carpeting was recently pulled up and replaced with a hardwood floor in the Frontier Elementary School gym. In June, the Frontier School board approved new permanent bleachers for the gym that will be connected to the wall and fold up. Installation is scheduled for October. A Frontier Mustang logo compliments the hardwood flooring that gives a new appearance to the gym that was part of the original school building constructed in 1964.  (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 85

Softball Champs


“DARE,” the 2015 Wolf Point Major/Minor League softball champions players and coaches are (from left to right) Hamyanie Campbell, assistant coach Donna Archdale, Demi Kegley, Brodi Archdale, Breah Jackson, Katelyn MacDonald, Ciera Michaelson, Sierra Hamilton and head coach Brandy Archdale.   (Photo by Janice Wemmer-Kegley)

Hits: 78

Compete At Richey Fair


Two wild horse race teams from Wolf Point competed at the Richey Rodeo Saturday, July 18. The team in the back had T.J. Bow as the rider, Josh Nieskens as the mugger and Zaq Bostick as the anchor. The front team was Easton Copenhaven as the rider, Brock Copenhaven as the anchor and Talor Toavs as the mugger.    (Photo by Kylee Jo Bushman)

Hits: 169

Wild Horse Stampede Partial Rodeo Results

7.16.15.RODEO 8309-WEB7.16.15.RODEO 8286-WEB7.16.15.RODEO 8303-WEB7.16.15.RODEO 8376-WEB7.16.15.RODEO 8530-WEB7.16.15.RODEO 8580-WEB7.16.15.RODEO-CLOWN 8408-WEB7.16.15.RODEO-CLOWN 8526-WEB


Pictured are: Lukey Whitford of Sidney loses his hat as he takes down this steer in the steer wrestling event opening night of the Stampede rodeo Thursday, July 9.  Sylvan LaCross of Baker riding Fame Monster in the bareback riding event Thursday.  Taylor Price of Huntsville, Texas, took second-place in the bareback riding event Thursday.  Specialty act "The One Armed Bandit."  J.C. Crowley of Poplar.  Katie Crowley of poplar.  Clown and barrelman JJ Harrison.  (Photos by John Plestina)

The following Stampede Rodeo results were made available. We will publish additional results when available.
Wild Horse Race
Thursday: The horses won.
Friday: Blue team of Clarles Brigis, Easton Copenhaver and Talor Toavs.
Saturday: Cream team of TJ Kerr, Garrett Long and Terrell Hamilton.
Bareback Riding
Go-around 1: first, Justin Miller, Billings, 89.0; second, Taylor Price, Huntsville, Texas, 83.0; third, Ty Breuer, Mandan, N.D., 80.0; fourth and fifth tie, Mason Johnston of Huntsville, Texas, and Dantan Bertsch of Eastend, Sask., Canada, 74.0; sixth, Mason Clements, Sandy Utah, 73.0.
Saddle Bronc Riding
Go-around 1: first, Cole Neeley, Duchess, Alberta, Canada, 87.0; second, Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah, 81.0; third, fourth and fifth tie, Kaden Deal, Cheyenne River, S.D., Jesse Kruse, Great Falls, and Louie Brunson, Interior, S.D., 78.0; sixth, Dalton Rixon, Richardton, S.D., 77.0; seventh and eighth tie, Jake Watson, Hudsons Hope, B.C., Canada, and Ty Manke, Hermosa, Calif., 76.0.
Bull Riding
Go-around 1: first, Taryl Smith, Litchville, N.D., 77.0.
Team Roping
Go-around 1: first, Shawn Bessette, Great Falls, Sid Sporer, Cody, Wyo., 4.9; second, Travis Tryan, Billings, Jett Hillman, Purcell, Okla., 5.6; third, Eli Lord, Sturgis, S.D., Jared Bilby, Bridgeport, Neb., 5.7; fourth, Tucker McDaniel, Midland, S.D., Jake Nelson, Creighton, S.D., 5.8; fifth, Drew Gartner, Killdeer, N.D., Paul Griesman, Piedmont, S.D., 5.9; sixth place tie, Manny Egusquiza Jr., Marianna, Fla., Travis Woodard, Stockton, Calif., 6.0; sixth place tie, Miles Kobold, Big Horn, Wyo., Jake Scott, Council Grove, Kan., 6.0.
Go-around 2: first, Shawn Bird, Cut Bank, Justin Viles, Cody, Wyo., 4.6; second, Riley Minor and Brady Minor, both of Ellensburg, Wash., 5.1; third, Delon Parker, Worden, Kory Mytty, Lolo, 5.2; fourth and fifth tie, Bubba Buckaloo, Caddo, Okla., Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Ore., 5.7; fourth and fifth tie, Brady Tryan, Huntley, B.J. Campbell, Aguila, Ariz., 5.7; sixth, Jason Carlson, Two Dot, Sam Levine, Wolf Creek, 5.5.
Aggregate results: first, Derick Fleming, Brett Fleming, both of Watford City, N.D., 13.0/2; second, Jason Thorstenson, Rapid City, S.D., Paul Tierney, Oral, S.D., 13.6/2; third, Riley Minor and Brady Minor, both of Ellensburg, Wash., 15.3/2; fourth, Ben Ayre and Bill Ayre, both of Glendive,15.5/2; fifth, J.B. Lord and Levi Lord, both of Sturgis, S.D., 17.1/2; sixth, Eli Lord, Sturgis, S.D., Jared Bilby, Bridgeport, Neb., 17.3/2.
Tie-Down Roping
Go-around 1: first, J.C. Crowley, Poplar, 8.5; second and third tie, Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Ore., 8.6; second and third tie, Joe Schmidt, Belford, N.D., 8.6; fourth, Billy Jack Merrill, Culbertson, 9.0.
Go-around 2: first, Mike Johnson, Henryetta, Okla., 8.0; second, Cole W. Hatzenbuehler, Solen, N.D., 8.8; third, Bode Scott, Pryor, 9.0; fourth, Lane Livingston, Stephenville, Texas, 9.1.
Aggregate results: first, Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Ore., 18.0/2; second, Joe Schmidt, Belford, N.D., 18.4/2; third, J.C. Crowley, Poplar, 18.4/2; fourth, Cole W. Hatzenbuehler, Solen, N.D., 19.7/2.
Steer Wrestling
Go-around 1: first, John Gee, Stanford, 3.9; second, Mike Gollaher, Cascade, 4.2; third and fourth tie, Tom Hansen, Killdeer, N.D., 4.5; third and fourth tie, Scott Kleeman, Killdeer, N.D., 4.5; fifth, Kyle Calloway, Blue Creek, 4.7; sixth, Evan Entze, Golden Valley, N.D., 5.1.
Go-around 2: first, Ross Mosher, Augusta, 4.1; second and third tie, Ross Eickoff, Grass Ridge, 4.3; second and third tie, Jason Reiss, Dickinson, N.D., 4.3; fourth, Tanner Milan, Cochrane, Alberta, Canada, 4.4; fifth and sixth tie, Nick Guy, Sparta, Wisc., 4.5; fifth and sixth tie, Tee Hale, White Owl, S.D., 4.5.
Aggregate results: first, Mike Gollaher, Cascade, 9.3/2; second, Kyle Calloway, Blue Creek, 10.0/2; third, Tanner Milan, Cochrane, Alberta, Canada, 10.4/2; fourth, Tyler Thorson, Towner, N.D., 10.5/2; fifth, Nick Guy, Sparta, Wisc., 11.0/2sixth tie, Tye Hale, Faith, S.D., 11.3/2;sixth tie, Evan Entze, Golden Valley, N.D., 11.3/2.
Barrel Racing
First, Megan Swint, 17.46; second, Heather Knerr, 17.63; third, Sherrylynn Johnson, 17.89; fourth tie. Gayleen Malone and Ashley Day, 17.97; sixth, Jessica Routier, 17.99; seventh, Tisa Peek, 18.02; eighth, Jana Griemsman, 18.05; ninth, Desirae Earl, 18.07; 10th tie, Hannah Sharon and Samantha Jorgenson, 18.08; 12th tie, Wanda Brown and Victoria Netzer, 18.09.

Hits: 233