Written by Herald-News
Northside Elementary School held its annual Welcome Back Barbecue for students and teachers. Teachers cooked and paraprofessionals served. Pictured are (from left to right) fourth-grader Sharon Jeffries and paraprofessionals Sonia Hawk, Brenda Dionne, Ann Landsrud and Tiffany Syzmanski.
(Photo by John Plestina)
Written by Herald-News
Roosevelt County Deputy Sheriff Clay McGeshick is pictured with his K9 partner “Ace,” who was awarded a ballistic vest from the nonprofit organization Vested Interest in K9s. Headquartered in Taunton, Mass., the group’s mission is to provide protective vests for law enforcement dogs. Each vest costs $950. The organization has raised over $1 million and provided about 1,100 vests for dogs in 39 states since 2009. The K9 vest campaign will provide over 350 vests for law enforcement dogs nationwide in memory of ‘Rocco,’ a Pittsburgh, Pa., canine that sacrificed his life in the line of duty in January. All vests are embroidered with the sentiment, “In memory of K9 Rocco, Pittsburgh Bureau of Police.” For more information about Vested Interest in K9s and to learn how to make tax-deductible contributions, visit www.vik9s.org. (Photo by John Plestina)
Written by John Plestina
Fifteenth Judicial District Judge David Cybulski declared a mistrial in the Malinda Bibb case, Thursday, Aug. 14.
The reason for the mistrial, according to district court clerk Jeri Toavs, was that not enough of the people who had been called for jury duty showed up for the trial.
A new trial date for Bibb was scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 16. One hundred people will be called for jury selection.
Bibb, 31, of Minot, N.D., is charged with criminal possession of dangerous drugs, criminal possession with intent to distribute and criminal possession of drug paraphernalia.
She is free on bail.
Written by John Plestina
More than 30 employees of Wolf Point bars, convenience stores and restaurants that have liquor and beer licenses took a mandatory alcohol sales and server training class Tuesday, Aug. 12. Great Northern Development Corporation hosted the presentation.
Owners and managers of all bars and restaurants that hold liquor licenses, bartenders and servers are mandated by Montana law to become certified within 60 days of being hired. Certification is good for three years. After 60 days, employees can not legally work without certification and owners of establishments could face fines for not ensuring that themselves and all of their employees are certified.
To become certified, they must take a one-day class with a curriculum developed by the Montana Department of Revenue, the state agency that issues licenses for alcohol sales.
Trained professionals present the class. There are only three in the local area. One of those people is Mike Hughes of the Montana Job Service, who presented the class in Wolf Point last week. He said there will be another class in Culbertson in the near future.
The class teaches bar and restaurant owners and employees who serve alcohol their legal responsibilities and potential personal liabilities that could result in criminal charges and/or a lawsuit. That includes checking IDs and not serving persons younger than 21. It also means knowing when it is time to cut off an intoxicated person. It is illegal for any licensed establishment in Montana and the licensee’s employees to sell or serve any alcoholic beverage to any obviously intoxicated person.
Hughes stressed that owners, managers, bartenders and others who serve alcohol in bars and restaurants are potentially criminally and civilly liable and can protect themselves from legal problems they don’t want and could avoid.
The class also addressed potential consequences for bar employees not calling police when they should be called. That includes not reporting fights.
Hughes showed a video recounting a June, 2010, incident where a Bigfork bowling alley bar manager served 17 days of a six-month jail sentence after allowing after hours sales to a coworker who became intoxicated and later killed a Montana Highway Patrol trooper in a crash. The potential for charges and jail or even prison time are possible for any bar or restaurant owner who holds a liquor license, manager, bartender or server.
“You could expect jail and you could expect up to $500,000 in liability,” Hughes said.
He also said servers are more likely than owners to end up in jail, even if they say their employer threatened to fire them if they refused to violate the law.
Bartenders and servers could be charged with manslaughter if they serve an intoxicated individual and that person kills another in a drunk driving crash or a fight.
Hughes also said there is a higher risk of lawsuits associated with beer gardens than there is with bars.
Montana considers alcoholic beverage licenses a government-issued conditioned privilege.
“Local law enforcement can actually shut your bar down,” Hughes said
He said city police officers and sheriff’s deputies can close down a bar on a temporary basis under the Montana nuisance law.
Hughes said parking lots are considered part of a business, therefore telling people fighting to take it outside could lead to criminal or civil liability.
“What happens in your parking lot; you’re just as liable,” Hughes said.
Penalties under Montana law for sales of alcohol to intoxicated persons includes fines of $250 for first offenses, $1,000 for second offenses, a $1,500 fine and 20-day suspension of a liquor license for a third offenses and revocation of the license on a fourth offense.
Hughes also addressed a new Department of Revenue Disorderly Licensed Premises form that is available to the public. Anyone who has patronized a bar where there is a fight where the police are not called, minors being served or violations of any alcohol or drug law can download, fill out and submit the form that is available at http://revenue.mt.gov/Portals/9/liquor/education/CitizenConcernForm.pdf.
Other issues the class addressed included:
● sales only permitted between 8 a.m. and 2 a.m., 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. for breweries, 11 a.m. and 11 p.m. for restaurants;
● bar and restaurant employees must be at least 18 to serve open containers of alcohol while there is no minimum age to sell closed containers [packaged beer and liquor in a store];
● while the minimum age to consume alcohol is 21, 18-year-olds may gamble in a casino and purchase tobacco products;
● establishments should have posted written alcohol sales policies.
Written by John Plestina
The search has shifted to North Dakota for two unidentified men who committed a gunpoint robbery near Culbertson on Wednesday, Aug. 13.
Roosevelt County Undersheriff John Summers said Monday, Aug. 18, that the McKenzie County, N.D., Sheriff’s Office [in Watford City] began searching for the two men Friday, Aug. 15, after Summers contacted them.
Summers said a resident of rural McKenzie County called the Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office and said he had seen the suspect vehicle on a county road. He told Summers he learned of the search online.
Summers said the man attempted to follow the vehicle and the men took off.
The RCSO reported that two white males, believed to be in their middle 20s, robbed an individual with a pistol on the side of County Road 2054 north of Culbertson, about 8 a.m., on Wednesday, Aug. 13. They were seen later that morning headed southbound on the Lanark Road toward U.S. Hwy. 2.
“We’ve combed the area pretty good. We’ve canvassed the area,” Sheriff Freedom Crawford said at 4:30 p.m. on the day of the robbery.
He said the victim was re-interviewed to check details.
“The description that was given to us by the victim hasn’t changed,” Crawford said.
The vehicle is reported to be a black Ford pickup, possibly a 2000 model, with a temporary tag in the back window and a bullet hole in the tailgate.
One of the men was reported to have been wearing blue jeans and a gray sweater at the time of the robbery and the other was wearing a red shirt.
Anyone with any information should contact the RCSO at 653-6240. The telephone number for the McKenzie County Sheriff’s Office is 701-444-3654.