Wolf Point Herald

Roosevelt County Fair Livestock Judging Results

Livestock judging took place Friday, Aug. 8, at the Roosevelt County Fairgrounds.
Results are as follows:
Market lambs: grand champion, Tiara Whitmus; reserve champion, Trinity Whitmus.
Market beef: grand champion, Abby Reidle; reserve champion, Somer Reidle.
Market goat: grand champion, Chase Kilzer; reserve champion, Rachael Gilbert.
Market hog: grand champion, Brett Stentoft; reserve champion, AJ Ullmer.
Breeding beef: grand champion, Somer Reidle; reserve champion, McKade Mahlen.
Breeding sheep: grand champion, Macala Adkins; reserve champion, Carry Vandall.
Breeding goat: grand champion, Carry Vandall; reserve champion, Roxanne Vermette.

Hits: 91

Friesen’s Floral At The Fair

HN.8.14.14.FAIR 7556-WEB

Friesen’s Floral of Wolf Point presented a free planting workshop at the fair. Friesen’s owner Mary Buckles (at right) presents the workshop to Ruth Reidel of Sidney (left) and Kristine Mahlen of Froid, a Roosevelt County Fair Board member. (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 85

Playing Tunes At The Fair

HN.8.14.14.FAIR 7547-WEB

Gerald Peterson of Wolf Point and his sister, Jackie Ehrhardt of Gladmar, Sask., provide entertainment at the fair as the band Midway. (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 80

4-H Indoor Conference Judging Results

CS.8.14.14.FAIR 7552-WEB


Halle Vareberg, 12, of Froid, explains her cooking project entry to a judge during 4-H conference judging. (Photo by John Plestina)


Dept. B-Animal Science: business award, Trinity Whitmus, $10 from Agland; business award, Macala Adkins, $10, from Wolf Point; business award, Payton Wilson, cheeseburger meal at Wild West Diner; best of show, Gus Spradley.
Dept C-Engineering and Technology: business award, Kefa Jerome, $10, from Wolf Point; business award, Quinn Whitmus, $10, from Agland; best of show, Quinn Whitmus.
Dept E-Family and Consumer Science: business award, Tiara Whitmus, $10 from Wolf Point; business award, Renee Oelkers, $10, from Culbertson Chamber of Commerce; best of show, Oelkers.
Dept. G-Communication and Expressive Arts: business award, Nate Stentoft, $10, from Frostees, best of show, Braeden Romo.
Dept H-Leadership and Personal Development: business award, Mariah Machart, $10, from Frostees.
Dept I-Health: business award, Halle Vareberg, bread mix; business award, Katie South, $10, from Culbertson Chamber of Commerce; best of show, Sierra Machart.
Dept J-Roosevelt County Projects: outstanding decorated cupcake, Sierra Machart, Wilton Yearbook of Cake Decorating; business award, Sierra Machart, $10, from Wolf Point; best of show, Sierra Machart.
Dept. K-4-H Miscellaneous: business award, Macala Adkins, $5, from Frostees; business award, Lucas Oelkers, $10, from Frostees; business award, Renee Oelkers, $10, from Wolf Point.
Dept. L-FFA: business award, McKade Mahlen, $20, from Culbertson Chamber of Commerce; business award, Tessa Larsen, $10, from Agland.

Hits: 173

Night With Stars Variety And Style Show Winners Announced


Many people were in attendance for this year’s A Night with Stars Variety and Style Show that kicked off the 2014 Roosevelt County Fair.
Various area businesses were generous in their donations for door prizes, and the crowd went home with fabulous prizes at the end of the evening. Froid Federal Credit Union donated five $5 4-H concession stand coupons that went to Mason Weber, Lucas Oelkers, Allen Larsen, Chris Olson and Issac Rumsey. Main Street Grocery in Poplar donated six 12-pack pops that went to Kayli Olson, Mavis Drescher, Carolyn Brugh, Genny Nordmeyer, Leah Knudsen and Renee Oelkers. Lois Weber took home the $25 gift certificate to Main Street Grocery. Will’s Office World/Radio Shack in Wolf Point donated a $20 gift certificate that Tiffany Marchwick happily accepted. A $25 gift certificate from Sethre Appraisal to Quilts and More went to Jenell Bear. Blue Rock Products in Plentywood donated 12 t-shirts. The lucky winners were Betty McGinnis, John Derenberger, Alexis Bidegaray, Lorena Hekkel, LaVonne Scotson, Kelly Burns, Jake Reynen, Logan Nickoloff, Judy Huber, Eva Mae Larsen, Beth Hekkel and Cheryl Kirkaldie. The hat from Blue Rock Products went to Mary Lou Weeks. Gaffaney’s of Plentywood was kind enough to donate a weather alert clock radio which went to Merna Panasuk and a battery organizer and tester that Wilma Hodges won. Two winners took home cash from First Community Bank in Culbertson: Olga Elgen and Jeri Gustafson. Floral vases from Friesen’s Floral in Wolf Point went to Heather Taylor, Sierra Machart, Penny Bergstrom and Chris Finnicum, and the beautiful floral wreath went to Shirley Marchwick. A gold and silver necklace from the Other Place went to Irene Johnson while The Other Place’s wallet went home with Virginia McGinnis, and their lovely sun hat went to Lindsee Kjos. Andrea Rhodes took home the Pure Indulgence Organic Spa Collection from Buddy and LeEtta Waldhausen.  The King’s Inn donated five individual gifts of $10 each which Rhonda Knudsen, Barb Anderson, Emily Nielsen, Christie Knudsen and Traci Kjelshus took home. Val-Am Stop and Go in Culbertson honored all of the vintage swimsuit models with a small nacho from their store.

Hits: 54