Wolf Point Herald

New Jail Construction Begins

A substantial amount of the concrete has been poured for the new Roosevelt County Detention Center on the corner of Dawson Street and First Avenue South. The county commissioners accepted a construction bid of a little more than $11 million from Sletten Construction of Great Falls March 25. The new facility will be considerably larger than the current aging jail and is slated to begin housing inmates in the fall of 2017. At that time, remodeling will begin on the current jail and sheriff’s station adjacent to the construction project. That phase of the project is scheduled for completion in 2018 and will include new offices for the RCSO.

Hits: 317

School Board Approves Hires, Purchases, Superintendent Housing

The Wolf Point School board held a special board meeting on Wednesday, May 25, to approve personnel hires and several purchases.
The board approved offering a $93,000 per year two-year contract to newly hired superintendent Rob Osborne that included district-provided housing. A second option of $95,000/year plus $3,000/year in rent assistance had also been negotiated, but the board felt it was better to offer housing. Several board members were appointed going to begin the hunt for a home to purchase for the superintendent.

Hits: 519

Read more: School Board Approves Hires, Purchases, Superintendent Housing

Two-Term Governor Schwinden Reflects On Wolf Point Roots

The sign in Sherman Park reading: “Wolf Point Montana, home of Governor Ted Schwinden” serves as a reminder to young people that a person growing up in Wolf Point could ascend to high places.


Hits: 289

Read more: Two-Term Governor Schwinden Reflects On Wolf Point Roots

Gary And Shirley McCrae Selected As Stampede Grand Marshals

Each year, the Wolf Point Wild Horse Stampede committee selects an outstanding individual or couple to serve as grand marshal for the “granddaddy of Montana rodeos,” the Wild Horse Stampede, the oldest annual rodeo in Montana.

Hits: 314

Read more: Gary And Shirley McCrae Selected As Stampede Grand Marshals

Trump, Sanders, Bullock, Gianforte Primary Winners; Roosevelt County Public Safety Mill Levy Passes

Donald Trump with 73 percent of the Montana Republican vote won the GOP presidential primary and Bernie Sanders defeated Hillary Clinton with 51 percent in the Montana Primary Tuesday, June 7.
Trump and Clinton are presumptive nominees. Both major parties will hold nominating conventions in August.
Frank Smith of Poplar won the Democratic primary in State Senate District 16.
Roosevelt County voters approved the Public Safety Fund mill levy 1,027-578.
Unofficial results as of Wednesday, June 8, showed a 32 percent voter turnout in Roosevelt County. The Roosevelt County totals are shown first followed by statewide or district-wide totals.
Democratic presidential: Bernie Sanders, 63,168, 397 in Roosevelt County; Hillary Clinton, 55,194, 314 in Roosevelt County; no preference, 5,356, two in Roosevelt County.
Republican presidential: Donald Trump, 82,409, 712 in Roosevelt County; Ted Cruz, 14,476, 66 in Roosevelt County; John Kasich, 10,622, 26 in Roosevelt County; Marco Rubio, 5,113, 21 in Roosevelt County; Jeb Bush, 3,248, 14 in Roosevelt County; no Preference, 7,291, 41 in Roosevelt County.
Democratic gubernatorial: Steve Bullock, 109,567, 615 in Roosevelt County; Bill McChesney, 10,503, 103 in Roosevelt County.
Republican gubernatorial: Greg Gianforte, 110,079, 590 in Roosevelt County; Terry Nelson, 34,074, 207 in Roosevelt County.
The following results are for Roosevelt County and district wide.
State Senate District 16 Democratic: Frank J. Smith, 657, 404 in Roosevelt County; Leann Montes, 494, 109 in Roosevelt County; Bobbi Favel, 320, 34 in Roosevelt County.
State Senate District 16 Republican: G. Bruce Meyers, 1,192, 342 in Roosevelt County.
State Senate District 17 Democrats: Douglas Adolphson, 1,307, 131 in Roosevelt County.
State Senate District 17 Republican: Mike L. Lang, 2,535, 263 in Roosevelt County; Wayne Stahl, 1,666, 134 in Roosevelt County.
State Representative District 31 Democratic: Bridget Smith, 661.
State Representative District 31 Republican: write-in votes, 31.
State Representative District 34 Democratic: Evelyn Carlisle, 709, 151 in Roosevelt County.
State Representative District 34 Republican: Austin Knudsen, 2,016, 425 in Roosevelt County.
Other races
U.S. Congress: Denise Juneau, Democrat, unopposed, 110,572, 696 in Roosevelt County; Ryan Zinke, Republican, unopposed, 142,780, 806 in Roosevelt County.
Attorney General: Larry Jent, Democrat, unopposed, 100,117, 629 in Roosevelt County; Tim Fox, Republican, unopposed, 138,279, 777 in Roosevelt County.
Secretary of State: Monica Lindeen, Democrat, unopposed, 109,374, 689 in Roosevelt County; Corey Stapleton, Republican, unopposed, 135,478, 759 in Roosevelt County.
State Auditor: Jesse Laslovich, Democrat, unopposed, 101,823, 622 in Roosevelt County; Matt Rosendale, Republican, unopposed, 131,151, 738 in Roosevelt County.
State Superintendent of Public Instruction: Melissa Romano, Democrat, unopposed, 101,840, 645 in Roosevelt County; Elsie Arntzen, Republican, unopposed, 128,153, 729 in Roosevelt County.
State Supreme Court [non-partisan]
Chief Justice: Mike McGrath, 233,893, 1,380 in Roosevelt County.
Justice No. 3: Kristen Juras, 99,176, 654 in Roosevelt County; Dirk Sandefur, 77,698, 320 in Roosevelt County; Eric Mills, 48,277, 235 in Roosevelt County.
Justice No. 6: Jim Shea, unopposed, 223,417, 1,327 in Roosevelt County.

Hits: 662