Wolf Point Herald

It’s Almost Time To ‘Get Lit In Wolf Point’ Festival Of Lights And Stroll Is Friday

Wolf Point’s first “Get Lit In Wolf Point, Festival Of Lights And Stroll,” slated for Friday, Dec. 5, will replace the Parade of Lights, breaking a long tradition.
The Wolf Point Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture wants to take the kickoff of the holiday season in a new direction this year because of a lack of participation in the parade last year.
“Get Lit In Wolf Point, Festival Of Lights And Stroll” along with the annual Northeast Montana Health Services Charitable Foundation’s Festival of Trees will both open the holiday season Friday, Dec. 5.
The chamber is asking that all downtown Christmas lights be turned on at 5:30 p.m. The public can stroll the downtown area, viewing the lights and holiday displays.
The gazebo and large tree in Sherman Park will be lit up and the Wolf Point Lions Club will sell chili in the park. The Junior Optimist Club will sell hot chocolate.
The chamber is encouraging everyone to come downtown to view the lights and support the businesses.
“We’re trying to transition from a parade to a stroll,” Aaron Kurokawa said.
The chamber is also seeking volunteers to build stationary holiday displays that could be set up in Sherman Park.
Other holiday activities include the Wild Horse Stampede Committee’s annual Christmas tree sale, which began Monday, Dec. 1. Trees will be available for sale at Marvin Brookman Stadium on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 4 to 7 p.m.; on Saturday, Dec. 6, from noon to 5 p.m.; with the last chance to purchase a tree being Monday, Dec. 22.
The Optimist Club of Wolf Point’s annual Angel Tree radio-thon will be Friday, Dec. 5, from 1 to 4 p.m. on KVCK.
The Optimists will hold their annual bazaar, cookies by the pound and salad bar at the Wolf Point High School gym on Saturday, Dec. 6, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Hits: 400

Line Of Grain Trucks

12.04.14.GRAIN-TRUCKS 8665-WEB
Semis waited more than two hours to unload at Columbia Grain last week as the elevators are finally able to accommodate more grain. Farmers waiting in line said the elevators had been full.    (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 397

Celebrating The Holidays At The Library


The Roosevelt County Library in Wolf Point held a fun-filled evening of Christmas ornament-making and caroling for children 12 and under Monday, Dec. 1.
(Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 341

First Community Donation

Diane White, on behalf of First Community Bank, presented Rose Neumiller Green of the Wolf Point Food Pantry with a $500 donation. Green said the donation was very welcome and the food pantry would be operational in January. Anyone wanting to volunteer to help prepare the building could call Green at 650-5667. Donations can be sent to Food Pantry, P.O. Box 255, Wolf Point, MT 59201.

Hits: 259

Recognizing Attendance At Southside School

12.04.14.S-SIDE-ATTENDANCE WP beckers-WEB12.04.14.S-SIDE-ATTENDANCE azure-WEB

Kim Becker’s second grade are Cloelle Buck Elk, Sam Erwin, Ethan Fowler, Jacquelyn Garfield, Kadence Garfield, Calley Guldborg, Keenan Huber, Hope Nieskens, Serenity Poitra, Trinity Poitra, Brooklyn Rios, Adriana Steele, Nevaeh Wetsit, Logan White, Jaycen Williams and Victoria Wozniak.

Rainey Azure first grade class are Kelly Baker, Andrew Beauchamp, Ashton Bell, Duran Bigleggins, Aiden Eagle, Anthony Fox, Aleecia Garfield, Pacer Garrett, Quintanna Gonzales, Gabriel Keiser, Marley Macdonald, Wyatte Martin-Martell, Emily Nefzger, Rilley Smith, Navella Weeks and Joseph White Snow.     (Submitted photos)


The staff at Southside Elementary School is busy tracking attendance. They recognize students and classrooms with good attendance and we try to help students who are missing school.
After 54 days of school, ending Nov. 26, all 15 of classes in kindergarten through third grade have had at least 10 days of perfect attendance. And almost half of the classes have had 20 or more days of perfect attendance. Kindergarten teachers Kathy Rauch and Rebecca Fritz’s classes have had 21 and 20 days respectively. First grade teachers Rainey Azure and Kelli Vine’s classes have had 28 and 26 days of perfect attendance. In the second grade, there were three classes with 20 or more days of perfect attendance: They were Daisha Douglas with 23 days, Dianne Hoversland with 26, and Jocelyn Peters with 23. All third grade classes are working on reaching 20 days.
Many of the students have been to school 54 days in a row. Sixty-three of 288 students, which is 22 percent, have only missed one or less days. In kindergarten there are 18 students, first grade has 16 students, second grade has 11 students, and third grade has 18 students.
The Super Classes of the week this week are Kim Becker’s second grade class for having nine of the last 11 days with perfect attendance and Rainey Azure’s first grade class for having 13 of the last 16 days of perfect attendance. We are very proud of our students and thankful for having them at school every day.
Southside School urges parents to contact the school if their child is going to be absent for any reason.

Hits: 316

Warning: Unknown: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/lib/sec/primary.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/northe28/public_html/wph:/tmp::/home/northe28/public_html/wph/tmp:/home/northe28/public_html/wph/logs) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in Unknown on line 0

Fatal error: Unknown: Failed opening required '/var/lib/sec/primary.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php53/pear') in Unknown on line 0