Wolf Point Herald

WPHS Hosts First Speech And Drama Tournament In 15 years



The Wolf Point High School speech and drama team claimed several medals at the first home meet in 15 years, held Saturday, Dec. 6. They are  Devin Northington, Jhett Tiernan, Haron Eymard, Jaki Harada, Jeremy Birkoski and Jami Welch.

The Poplar Speech and Drama Team.

Miming it up are the Wolf Point and Poplar mimes during the Wolf Point meet. They are (from left to right) Poplar’s Alexandria Smith, Wolf Point’s Jaki Harada and Poplar’s Andrew Moran.   (Photo by John Plestina)

Wolf Point High School hosted the first speech and drama tournament in Wolf Point in 15 years, Saturday, Dec. 6.
For all events, class B/C rules applied. Competition comprised of seven schools from classes B and C. The Wolves had five competitors in speech and two in drama.
Competing in serious oral interpretation was sophomore Haron Eymard. She stepped up her performance by choosing excerpts from The Coming Out Monologues. In the preliminary rounds, she scored second, fifth and third, for a score of 10, qualifying her for finals. In the final round, she scored fourth, fourth and second, for a final score of 20. Eymard was quite surprised when it was announced that she took second-place.
Competing in humorous oral interpretation were freshman Jacob Boysun, senior Jeremy Birkoski and Jami Welch. In the preliminary rounds, Boysun scored third, first and fourth, for a score of 8; Birkoski scored fifth, second, and first, for a score of 8; Welch scored second, fourth and third, for a score of 9. All three qualified for finals. Boysun scored third, fourth and sixth, for a final score of 21, taking fourth- place. Welch scored fourth, seventh and eighth, for a final score of 28, taking seventh-place.
Birkoski crushed the competition in the final round by scoring first, first and second. With a final score of 12, he took first.
Competing in spontaneous oral interpretation was junior Devin Northington. In the preliminary rounds, Northington scored third, second and second, for a score of 7, qualifying him for finals. In the final round, he scored first and second, for a final score of 10. Competition was intense in the final round. Rachel Sigmundstad from Glasgow also scored first and second. When the scores were finally tabbed, Northington took second- place.
Competing for the first time in humorous solo was senior Jhett Tiernan. He wrote his own comedy monologue. Despite scoring sixth and seventh in the first two preliminary rounds, Tiernan was unable to finish competing in the third round.
Competing in pantomime was freshman Jaki Harada. In the preliminary rounds, she scored second in all three rounds, for a score of 6, qualifying her for finals. Mimes from all schools put on their best performances in the final round vying for placing position. Harada scored fifth and second, for a final score of 13. Harada took second place.
The Wolf Pack did quite well in their home den. In Class B, they scored third in drama, with Malta taking second and Glasgow claiming the first-place trophy. For speech, Poplar took third, the Wolves took second and, again, Glasgow claimed the first- place trophy. In Class C, it was Circle taking home the first-place trophies in both speech and drama. Froid/Medicine Lake took second in both speech and drama.
Coach Chelly Harada said she would like to thank all those who volunteered to judge the speech and drama events. It was much to ask of them to take time out of their busy schedules.
“The team appreciates all the teachers for allowing the use of their classrooms for competition; [Karla] McGill for handling the early morning registration; and [Mike] Erickson for all his help with planning the meet and ordering the medals and trophies.  [Lynne] Monson was awesome for her assistance with the auditorium and for opening Wolf Mart for the competitors to purchase snacks throughout the day,” said Harada, who also noted that Leah Strauser took care of breakfast and prepared lunch for all the coaches, judges and bus drivers. The speech and drama coaches stated their competitors had lots of fun and all expressed support for a meet in Wolf Point next year. Overall, the meet was a great success.

Hits: 377

Commissioners Ponder Possible County Ownership Of Oil Royalties

The Roosevelt County Commissioners discussed hiring an employee or consultant to research possible county ownership of oil royalties and mineral interests Tuesday, Dec. 9.
Commission presiding officer Duane Nygaard said the county might not be getting all royalties it is entitled to and research could lead to the county recovering royalties it might be entitled to.
The research could be a lengthy process, possibly taking two or three years.
Assistant county attorney Jordan Knudsen said the research should begin with the eastern end of the county where there is the most oil exploration and work westward.
Knudsen called the research “specialized borderline legal work.”
No decision was made on whether to hire an employee of a consultant.
The commission will revisit the issue at another meeting later this month.

Hits: 245

Wolf Point School Board Fills Several Positions

The Wolf Point School board filled several positions during the monthly meeting Monday, Dec. 8.
The board approved the hiring of: K.D. Madison, junior class advisor; Michael Contreras, junior high and high school custodian; Jory Erickson, junior high wrestling coach and substitute teacher; Mikela Smith, junior high drill team coach; Cole
Baker, Gear Up parent liaison; and Meili Baker, substitute teacher.
The board also approved the resignation of substitute custodian Connie Dahl.
The board approved purchases of $12,895 for sheet metal from Baileigh Industrial of Manttowoc, Wisc., and $7,560 for tools and equipment from Woodworkers Supply Inc. of Casper, Wyo.
The board also approved the Yellowstone Ecology Project International Trip for summer 2015. The matter had been tabled from the October meeting because of questions of liability.
The board tabled a decision following a student disciplinary hearing that was held in a closed executive session. They will address the issue during the next board meeting Monday, Jan. 12.

Hits: 303

Frontier School Board Adopts Rachel’s Challenge

The Frontier School board voted to participate in the Rachel’s Challenge anti-bullying program Monday, Dec. 8.
Rachel’s Challenge is a national non-profit organization dedicated to creating safe, connected school environments and helps children make better choices.
The program is named in memory of Rachel Scott, the first victim of the Columbine High School [Colorado] shooting in 1999, and is in part based on her writings.
The school board discussed having an in-service day Monday, Jan. 19, to better inform teachers about Rachel’s Challenge. Teachers and administrators from several other school districts have been invited to attend.
The following day, a Rachel’s Challenge presentation will be presented to students.
In other business, the board hired Linda Spotts and Megan Winkler as substitute teachers.

Hits: 267

Angel Tree


First Community Bank of Wolf Point donated $200 to the Wolf Point Optimists Club for their Angel Tree fundraiser. Pictured are (from left to right) Optimists Elsie Hanson and Donna Reum, and First Community employees Jessi Webb and Jhona Peterson.  (Submitted photo)

Hits: 235

Warning: Unknown: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/lib/sec/primary.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/northe28/public_html/wph:/tmp::/home/northe28/public_html/wph/tmp:/home/northe28/public_html/wph/logs) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in Unknown on line 0

Fatal error: Unknown: Failed opening required '/var/lib/sec/primary.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php53/pear') in Unknown on line 0