Wolf Point Herald

Chamberlain Sentenced For Embezzlement

Fifteenth District Judge David Cybulski sentenced a former Cenex East employee to a four-year deferred imposition of sentence for embezzlement, Wednesday, Sept. 10.
Kendra Chamberlain, 26, of Wolf Point pleaded guilty to a single felony charge of theft by embezzlement, Wednesday, June 11. She had entered a not guilty plea in February.
“When I look at the crime, it’s stupid,” Cybulski said.
Chamberlain was charged following an investigation by the Wolf Point Police Department that began on Jan. 13, following an allegation by Agland management of employee theft at the Cenex East convenience store that included alleged cigarette thefts and returns to the store and false lottery ticket transactions.
The charging documents allege several falsified returns and lottery ticket transactions between Septem-
ber 2013 and Jan. 13.

Hits: 132

Correction For Photo ID

A caption under a photo on the front page last week should have read Culbertson School board chairman Paul Finnicum explains about the school’s achievements to Lt. Gov. Angela McLean. Also pictured is school board member Ron Larsen.

Hits: 83

Poplar Woman Charged With Kidnapping Agrees To Plea

A Poplar woman charged with kidnapping and assault with a dangerous weapon agreed to plead guilty in U.S. District Court in Great Falls to assault with a dangerous weapon under a plea agreement filed Thursday, Sept. 4.
The kidnapping charge will be dismissed.
A federal grand jury indicted Elaine Fast Horse, 30, in April.
Fast Horse could face a maximum penalty of 10 years imprisonment, a $250,000 fine, three years supervised release, a $100 special assessment and mandatory restitution.
According to the charging documents, the charges stem from allegations that Fast Horse assaulted another person with a knife and seized and confined that person on or about Oct. 10, 2012.
The Fort Peck Tribes Department of Law and Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation investigated the case.

Hits: 86

Shooting Range Closure Meeting Sept. 23

Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks  will facilitate a public meeting in order to discuss the closure of the shooting range located at Bridge Park, also known as Lewis & Clark Fishing Access Site, six miles south of Wolf Point.
The closure of this “unofficial” shooting range has been prompted by its small size, its closeness to residential homes and FWP’s challenge to effectively maintain the site.  
At this meeting it is also planned to discuss the options of a new shooting range in the close proximity of Wolf Point.  
The meeting will be Tuesday, Sept. 23, at 6:30 p.m. at the Fort Pack Community College – Wolf Point’s Campus, in the Dumont Building, Room 118. 

Hits: 86

Wolf Point Village Bidding Process Slowed

Great Northern Development Corporation housing specialist and marketing officer Brianna Vine told the Wolf Point City Council Monday, Sept. 15, that a bid opening for construction of the 24-unit Wolf Point Village rental complex was bumped to Sept. 30 to give contractors more time. The opening had been scheduled for Sept. 23.
The project has been delayed and it remains unknown when a groundbreaking could be held.
A first round of bidding in July produced bids in the $4- to $5-million range, far exceeding what had been anticipated.
The city received a $750,000 HOME grant as partial funding for the project through the Montana Department of Commerce earlier this year.
In related matter, the council took no action on a request by the developer to reevaluate and possibly waive $80,000 for grant administration.
Mayor Chris Dschaak said the city is already putting money into the project and should not waive the $80,000.
“The $80,000 is not going to make or break this project,” Dschaak said.
Plans are to build four one-bedroom units, 12 two-bedroom units and eight three-bedroom units on the north side of town, within walking distance of Borge Park, the swimming pool, Northside Elementary School and the Northeast Montana Health Services - Wolf Point Campus.
The complex will be targeted to families with incomes between 40 and 60 percent of the area median income. A family of four with a household income between $23,240 and $38,860 would qualify for these apartments. Rent will range from $354 to $767 monthly.
The apartments will include energy-efficient air conditioning, heating and appliances and single-car garages. The complex plans include a common area with barbecue, gazebo, computer learning center and library.

Hits: 86