Wolf Point Herald

Teacher Appreciation


Last week was Teacher Appreciation Week and Frontier Elementary School students honored their teachers and gave each a box of business cards Thursday, May 7. Pictured are seventh-grader Terry Allmer (right) with teacher Louise Petersen.  (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 63

Graduations Slated For Area Schools

Several area high schools will hold graduations in the coming week. Wolf Point and Poplar high schools will hold graduation ceremonies Sunday, May 24. Frazer’s graduation is Friday, May 29.
Brockton will hold graduation Friday, May 15, at 6 p.m. in the gym.
The class motto is “Each of us has different talents, different dreams and different destinations, but we all have the same power to make new tomorrows.”
The graduates are Wayan Bear, Laney Boadle, April Brown, Tyler Craft, Kensey Keil, Ellyn Plain Bull and Defender Walking Eagle.
Lustre Christian High School will hold graduation Sunday, May 17, at 3 p.m. in the high school gym.
The class motto for the class of 2015 at Lustre Christian High School is “Be that change that you want to see in the world, and never let the world change you.”
The graduates are Maya Cruz, Mawin Kulpruks, Serena Weide, Mack Young and Chen Zefeng.

Hits: 72

Poplar Students Win Poster Contest


Art students at Poplar High School participated in a public service announcement poster contest sponsored by Fort Peck Housing Authority Youth Recreation and headed by Lana Mikkelsen and Neil Taylor from the Tribal Education program. Students were asked to create a PSA about a concern in the community that they felt needed to be brought to light. Out of about 40 entries Mikkelsen chose the top four posters. Pictured are: (from left to right) Kamryn Azure, freshman, third place;  Whispering Youpee, freshman, fourth; Orlando Young, junior, first;  and Jalen Perkins, freshman, second.

Hits: 66

School Board Approves New Teachers

The Wolf Point School board approved the hiring of several new teachers during the monthly board meeting Monday, May 11.
Several positions that will become vacant after the current school year have not been filled.
Northside School teacher Kathy Adkins will replace Hannah Nieskens as Northside principal.
The board accepted Nieskens’ resignation. She will become a principal in another school district.
The outgoing school board approved the new personnel before the six new board members were sworn in.
The new hires approved were: Cole Baker, half-time Native American studies teacher and half-time GEAR UP parent liaison; Josh Eastman, junior high and high school physical education and health; Gary Farnsworth, high school social studies; Ryan Wilson, junior high social studies; Wendy Connelley, high school math; Leslie Larson, high school teacher; Debbie Tubbs, Northside School guidance counselor; Thomas Olsen, teacher and Cody Larson, Southside School teacher.
The following summer school teachers were also approved: Karla McGill, Emily Hamilton, Lee Vandall, Rona Stevens, Sharri Vandall, Paige Vinton, Jocelyn Peters, Vivian Schultz, Kristi Lepper, Joelle Page and Rona Stevens [substitute].
WPHS principal Kim Hanks was approved as summer school coordinator for the high school and junior high.
Hanks and Patricia Toavs were approved as co-special education directors.
The following summer school paraprofessionals were approved: Tiffany Szymanski, Joel Bergen and A.J. Allen.
Cheri’ Nygard was approved as transportation director.
Christie Ferdina has resigned as Northside School secretary but was approved as a substitute secretary.
Resignations accepted were: Edith Allen, Southside teacher; Jocelyn Peters Southside teacher; Barb Wall, Southside paraprofessional; Holly Girard, Northside teacher; and  Dannielle Solberg, high school teacher.

Hits: 79

DUI Task Force Looks At Ways To Spend Windfall

The Roosevelt County DUI Task Force discussed ways to use an expected $18,000 windfall during their meeting May 6.
Gov. Steve Bullock signed House Bill 132 into law in April, paving the way for the Roosevelt County’s task force to receive about $18,000 in funding by July 1.
The new legislation allows reallocation of unspent special revenue funds to Roosevelt County and 35 other counties that have DUI task forces or other county drinking and driving prevention programs, by allowing for the county portion of driver’s license reinstatement fees collected in counties that do not have task forces to be distributed on an equal basis to the 36 counties that have task forces on July 1 of each year.
County commissioner Gary Macdonald said what is likely to be $18,000 has averaged about $2,400 annually from DUI fines and fees. He said about $500,000 is being divided among the counties that have task forces.
Macdonald said the amount Roosevelt County receives in future years will not be as much.
The task force looked at the budget for the next fiscal year which will be about $21,000.
During the May 6 meeting, the task force discussed using part of the funding to establish one county-wide scholarship for a graduating high school senior in 2016. They also discussed establishing an essay or poster contest for junior high and younger students next year with first-, second- and third- place financial awards.
In other business, Macdonald said the Northern Tribes DUI Task Force has been created that includes the Fort Peck Reservation and others along the Hi-Line.
Another alcohol sales and service training will be held in Wolf Point June 9. Several have been held in Wolf Point and Culbertson during the past year.
Employees, managers and owners of bars, restaurants, convenience stores and other retail stores that sell or serve alcohol must take an alcohol sales and server training class that is mandated by state law and become certified within 60 days of being hired. After 60 days, employees cannot legally work without certification and owners of establishments could face fines for not ensuring that themselves and all of their employees are certified.
“They have to have it within 60 days [of being employed] or they’re breaking the law,” Macdonald said.
The task force is a citizens group appointed by the county commissioners that includes representatives of several law enforcement agencies and members of the public plans and funds public education, awareness and enforcement projects to reduce the number of alcohol and drug related crashes and deaths in Roosevelt County.

Hits: 65