Wolf Point Herald

Food Pantry Open House



Fort Peck Tribes executive board member Roxanne Gourneau (left) and Food Pantry Inc., executive director Rose Neumiller Green look over food that is to be distributed during an open house at the new food pantry Monday, Sept. 28. Gourneau is also a member of the Food Pantry Inc. board. The new food pantry in the former Boys and Girls Club building on the corner of Main Street and Fifth Avenue South fills a nearly two-year-long void since the Basket of Hope Food Bank and Thrift Store closed in 2013. The food pantry, which opened Sept. 21, is open from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m., Mondays through Fridays. Applications for food are available during those hours and food is distributed daily.  (Photo by John Plestina)

Hits: 13

A Wet Gumbo Forecast For The Weekend

The National Weather Service in Glasgow has reported that a slow moving weather system will move into eastern Montana during the evening hours of Thursday, Oct. 1, and will remain over the area for most of the weekend.
According to information provided by Greg Forrester, Glasgow NWS senior forecaster and hydrology program manager, rain is expected to move into Roosevelt, Valley and other northeastern Montana counties Thursday night and could continue to Sunday. Rainfall is expected to range between a quarter-inch in some locations more than an inch in others.
Warm and dry weather with highs mostly in the 70s are expected to precede the storm. Temperatures will cool to about 60 degrees for highs on Friday and the 50s for Saturday and Sunday.
Winds are forecast to be 10 to 20 mph in the eastern area of Roosevelt County, but could vary. The winds are expected to turn to the northeast or north for all areas Saturday night as the low moves to the east.
Forrester cautions that wet weather could make travel difficult on gravel roads and is likely to put harvesting on hold.

Hits: 17

Optimist Officers

10.1.15.Optimist Officers

The Wolf Point Optimist Club installed officers Saturday, Sept. 19, at the Wolf Point Elks Club. Attending from out of the area were: Doug Kirby, Billings; Gord Currie, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada; and Don Morrison of Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. Pictured are: (from left to right) Larry Neutgens, director; Kerrie Letschke, director; Pat Stennes, director; Elsie Hanson, director; Donna Reum, president; Dennis Nelson, director; Gloria Sande, secretary/treasurer and new lieutenant governor for District 13 and Zone 10; Currie; Karen Nelson, vice president; and Pat Henry, director.  (Submitted photo)

Hits: 11

Clark To Become Sheriff’s Monitor Of Sex Offenders

The Roosevelt County Commissioners created a new position of sexual offender registration deputy and approved current jail administrator Melvin Clark for the position Tuesday, Sept. 29.
Clark will remain as jail administrator until Dec. 31 and will train Troy Blount, who will replace him in the position.
Sheriff Jason Frederick said Clark will monitor all registered sex offenders in Roosevelt County and will visit them to ensure that they are where they are supposed to be and are following probation conditions.
In other business, the commissioners accepted the resignation of assistant coroner Steve Kirkegard, who will remain as a deputy coroner.
In another matter, the commissioners approved an agreement with the city of Wolf Point for the city to pay the county $12,404 for the continued services of Justice Court Judge Traci Harada as city judge.
The commissioners also approved several computer purchases including a laptop for aging services and desktop computers for the commissioners administrative assistant, and aging services.

Hits: 24

Cape Air To Continue Service For Montana Airports

Senator Steve Daines today announced that Cape Air has been re-approved as the Essential Air Service provider for airports in Glasgow, Glendive, Havre, Sidney and Wolf Point.
“Cape Air provides Montana’s community airports in Glasgow, Glendive, Havre, Sidney and Wolf Point with critical transportation services. It has proven to be a reliable and badly needed service for a number of Montana’s rural communities,” Daines stated. “As a commuter air carrier, Cape Air makes it easier to do business and travel in eastern Montana. I’m pleased by the Department of Transportation's excellent decision to renew Cape Air as the Essential Air Service provider for these communities.”
The U.S. Department of Transportation selected Cape Air to continue to provide EAS for Glasgow, Glendive, Havre, Sidney and Wolf Point at a three percent increase in annual subsidy for each year of the four year EAS contract. The current annual combined DOT subsidy is $11,950,426.

Hits: 11