Wolf Point Herald

Wolf Point Voters Reject Levies, Return Incumbents - Poplar Elects Norgaard, Marotek - Frontier rejects levies


Wolf Point voters rejected two levies and returned two incumbent trustees to the school board in a record high voter turnout Tuesday, May 6.

A $200,000 continuous elementary general fund levy failed by two votes, 392-390. With that levy failing, the future of the district's preschool program is in jeopardy.

The other levy, a $250,000 levy that would have run for one year, would have increased the building reserve and provide funding for parking lot and gym floor repairs at the high school. It failed 409-370 with voters in the city and 49-37 among Frontier School District voters.

The pothole-laden parking lot has not been resurfaced for more than a decade. The gym floor has not had major repairs since the current high school opened in 1969.

Incumbent Wolf Point School Board members Martin DeWitt and Tracy Juve Miranda were reelected. DeWitt garnered the most votes with 518. Miranda was also reelected with 476 voted.

The count for the five challengers was: Lee Allmer, 144; Juanita Cantrell, 119; Perry Scott Lilley Jr., 87; Lance Elliot Four Star, 83; and Yvonne Smoker Bashay, 82. Two ballots were listed as rejected on the election judges' return sheet.


Poplar voters returned school trustee Doug Marotek to office and voted incumbent James DeHerrera out.

Marotek received 194 votes and Ken Norgaard was elected with 150 votes.

The count for the other four candidates was: Emerson Young, 86; Thomas Brown, 79; Don Moran, 73; DeHerrera, 38.


Frontier Elementary School rejected two proposed levies.

A $50,000 per year, 15-year building reserve failed 32-21 and a 10,000 per year, 10-year technology levy failed 29-24.