Wolf Point Herald

Several File For State And Federal Offices

Several people have filed for legislative and federal elected offices.
Candidate filing for members of qualified political parties opened Jan. 9 and closed March 10.
In State House District 31, incumbent Bridget Smith, D-Wolf Point, and Bill Whitehead, D-Wolf Point, have filed.
In house District 33, Floyd Russell Hopstad, D-Glasgow, has filed.
In house District 36, incumbent Austin Knudsen, R-Cul-bertson, and Gene O. Hartsock, D-Glasgow, have filed.
United States Senate candidates who have filed include incumbent John Walsh, D-Helena. Democrats challenging Walsh in the primary are Dirk Adams, of Wilsall, and John Bohlinger, of Helena.
Republicans are Susan Cundiff, of Missoula, Steve Daines, of Helena; and Champ Edmunds, of Missoula.
Eight candidates have filed for the single at-large congressional district. They are Elsie Arntzen, R-Helena; John Driscoll, D-Helena; Mike Fellows, Libertarian-Missoula; John Lewis, D-Helena; Matt Rosendale, R-Glendive;
Corey Stapleton, R-Billings; Drew Turiano, R-Helena; and Ryan Zinke, R-Whitefish.
The primary election will be held Tuesday, June 3. The deadline for voter registration is May 5. The general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 4. Voter registration will closes Oct. 6.