Wolf Point Herald

Stafne Elected Fort Peck Tribal Chairman

The Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes held their 2013 Tribal Council Election Oct. 26.

A.T. “Rusty” Stafne won the election for chairman with 932 votes. Stafne has previously served as chairman. He did not run in 2011 because he wanted to help care for his wife, June, who was ill.

Ann Lambert was reelected as the vice chair with 727 votes.

John Weeks was also reelected as sergeant-at-arms with 653 votes. This will be his fourth term in the position.

In regards to the election for seats on the tribal executive board, newly elected Stacey Summers received the most votes with 733.

Other new members of the tribal executive board include Pearl Hopkins, 692; Roxanne Gourneau, 683; Marva Chapman-Firemoon, 602; and Rick Kirn; 596.

Returning members to the council include Terry Rattling Thunder, 715; Tommy Christian, 637; Dana Buckles, 628; Garrett Big Leggins, 625; Ed Bauer, 584; and Charles Headdress, 565.

In addition to tribal executive board elections, more than 1,001 tribal members voted for constitutional amendments No. 5, No. 6, No. 8 and No. 9.

No. 5, which passed with 1,072 votes, is a code of ethics of tribal executive board.

No. 6, which passed with 1,219 votes, amends the tribal constitution to allow the tribes to exercise civil and criminal jurisdiction over non-Indians for domestic violence.

No. 8, which passed with 1,115 votes, requires the tribal council to use their powers to protect and preserve cultural and spiritual sites of Fort Peck. This includes saving medicinal plants and natural food.

No. 9, which passed with 1,037 votes, requires that all community organizations recognized by the tribes must submit financial audit reports to the council.

Referendum No. 1 also passed with 1,011 votes. The referendum calls for the election of tri-bal court judges.