CS Masthead

Dangerous Threats Lead To Bainville School Lockdown


Threats made to a psychiatrist to kill people in Bainville resulted in the Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office locking down Bainville School Monday, May 11.
The RCSO responded to the school following information from the Williams County, N.D., Sheriff’s Office that an “unstable male” who lives in Bainville had made threats that included using a gun or knife, said RCSO Chief Deputy Corey Reum.
Reum responded to
Bainville. “I locked down the school as a precaution,” he said. “This guy has been in prison for threats.”
In the end, Williams County deputies arrested the man. He was reported to be lodged in the Williams County Jail in Williston, N.D.
Attempts to gain information from the Williams County Sheriff’s Office were unsuccessful.
RCSO undersheriff John Summers identified the man as Brian G. Corntassel. His age is listed as both 49 and 54. Corntassel is believed to be from Missoula and information obtained online shows previous addresses in Montana, Washington, Arizona and California.
Summers said Corntassel has been living with a girlfriend in Bainville.
“He had a meltdown in Williston. He told a psychiatrist in Williston he was going to start killing people in Bainville,” Summers said.
He said the Williams County Sheriff’s Office is holding Corntassel on a Missoula County warrant.
“He threatened to shoot a judge in Missoula four months ago,” Summers said.
In addition to that, a report published in The Spokesman-Review, a daily newspaper in Spokane, Wash., in 2010, Corntassel threatened to kill a Spokane judge and appeared in Washington Superior Court on a single felony charge of intimidating a judge. The Spokane newspaper reported that Corntassel threatened to shoot the judge in the head.

Culbertson Spruces Up


Culbertson’s Town Clean Up will be Saturday, May 30, from 9 a.m., to noon. A barbecue lunch will follow at City Hall at noon for all participants. Culbertson School held a cleanup throughout the community, Friday, May 8.  (Submitted photo)

Commissioners Approve Special Prosecutor For Rape Case

The Roosevelt County Commissioners approved a special prosecutor, Tuesday, May 12, for a case in 15th District Court against an oilfield worker from Florida accused of multiple counts including kidnapping and rape.
The commissioners voted to appoint a special prosecutor through the Montana Attorney General’s Prosecution Services Bureau to provide technical assistance to the Roosevelt County Attorney for the case against Joseph Martin Laturell, 52, of Florida and recently of
He pleaded not guilty in March to felony charges of sexual intercourse without consent, aggravated kidnapping and partner or family member assault, third offense.
Laturell has been lodged in the Roosevelt County Jail since March 8, held on $50,000 bail.
In other business, the commissioners approved a joint resolution that was also passed by the Culbertson City Council that will pave the way for a federal FAA grant for expansion of Big Sky Field, the county-owned airport in Cul-
The federal grant will cover 90 percent of costs. The total cost of the project is estimated at $152,000.
With the joint resolution, the county and municipal governments can secure the loan and put the project out for bids.
The project that is estimated to be completed in 2020 includes several land acquisitions.

Roosevelt Memorial Healthcare Foundation Receives Grant


Julie Johnston (left), a Maude Schuetze Foundation committee member, presents Jaimee Green, marketing and foundation director for Roosevelt Medical Center, with a grant certificate.  (Submitted photo)

Roosevelt Medical Center is one step closer to replacing the window in the resident’s Sun Room, after its’ Foundation recently received $1,525 from American State Bank and Trust of Williston, N.D., through the Maude M. Schuetze Foundation.
The Roosevelt Memorial Healthcare Foundation made the application request last month in an effort to continue to reach their goal of $18,000 to complete the window project. To date, about $10,000 has been raised.
“The Foundation is continually inspired by the dedication and generosity of our local communities who continually answer the call to give. That generosity is what makes it possible for RMC to continue offering the very best in local healthcare” said Jaimee Green, marketing/foundation director for RMC.

Graduations Slated For Area Schools

Several area high schools will hold graduations in the coming week.
Bainville’s seniors will graduate Saturday, May 16, at 1 p.m., in the gym.
The class motto is, “Be proud of how far you have come and have faith in how far you will go.”
The graduates are Carly Bowker, Patrick Butikofer, Justin Freed, Mikayla Lambert, Michael Miller, Elizabeth Rabbe, Somer Reidle, Collin Ryder and Gabe Walch.
Brockton will hold graduation Friday, March 15, at 6 p.m., in the gym.
The class motto is “Each of us has different talents, different dreams and different destinations, but we all have the same power to make new tomorrows.”
The graduates are Wayan Bear, Laney Boadle, April Brown, Tyler Craft, Kensey Keil, Ellyn Plain Bull and Defender Walking Eagle.
The Culbertson graduation will be Saturday, May 16, at 2:15 p.m., in the gym.
The class motto is, “It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters in the end.” — Ernest Hemmingway.
The graduates are Hannah Bawden, Angela Benson, Rayneese Bets His Medicine, Hannah Boyd-Weinberger, Samantha Fellman, Dominica Granada, Joseph Hanson, Mariah Machart, Zandalie Martell, Sheridan Martin, Michael Melbourne Vandall, Emily Nielsen, Madalynn Raab, Garret Reid, Thomas Scott, Tristan Sun Rhodes, Cody Van Why and Tony Williams.
Culbertson School announced the following eighth grade graduates. Brooke Bowland, Joseph Boyd, Chris Colgan, Kaitlyn Furukawa, Tristan Labatte, Chase Lambert, Lauren Lambert, Carter Nickoloff, Noah Nickoloff, Lucas Oelkers, Bryan Pederson, Gus Spradley and Camille Ward.
The Froid graduation will be Saturday, May 16, at 1 p.m., in the gym.
The class motto is, “In our hands we hold the future.”
The graduates are Cole Hofman, Patrick Kjelshus, Emmitt Reiland, Jeannie Schneider, Tessa Slater and Jordan Smith.