CS Masthead

Man Freed After Pleading To Misdemeanor Following Vehicle Theft

One of three transients who authorities say drove to Glasgow in a stolen a pickup to visit a friend in the Valley County Detention Center was freed after pleading guilty to a single misdemeanor in 15th District Court Wednesday, Oct. 28.
Brett Joseph Sandy, 25, of Orange, Calif., and Las Vegas, Nev., withdrew a previously entered not guilty plea to a charge of felony theft and pleaded guilty to a single misdemeanor count of unauthorized use of a vehicle.
District Judge David Cybulski sentenced Sandy to 60 days in the Roosevelt County Jail with credit for 78 days he had served since June 26, garnering immediate freedom. Sandy was also ordered to pay a $500 fine and $125 in surcharges by Dec. 31.
According to the charging documents, Sandy admitted to officers that he stole the truck.
Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office deputies arrested Sandy in Wolf Point Aug. 11, with Amanda Broyles, 41, of Lexington, Mo., and Shannon Tammel, 40, of St. Louis, Mo., with a pickup that had been reported stolen. All three pleaded not guilty to all charges during their arraignments Sept. 16.
According to information obtained from the RCSO and charging documents, Tammel claimed to be the girlfriend of Julian “Ty” Baughman of Florida, a Roosevelt County inmate being held at the Valley County Detention Center.
Baughman was found in possession of two vehicles in Culbertson that were reported stolen in the Williston, N.D., area. He is one of two men accused of taking RCSO deputies on a high-speed chase in a stolen truck through Culbertson in July that ended with deputies shooting out the tires to stop the pickup in a field.
Broyles is charged with felony theft and misdemeanor counts of displaying a license plate assigned to another vehicle, operating a motor vehicle while the privilege to do so is suspended or revoked [by North Dakota] and obstructing a peace officer. Broyles is alleged to have given a false name. Tammel is charged with felony theft.
The charging documents also state that the pickup, reported stolen in North Dakota, had spray paint covering the actual paint in an apparent attempt to disguise the vehicle.
Sandy had been held on $25,000 bail, the same amount that both women are held on. Both are lodged in the Valley County Detention Center.

Bid Accepted For Rodeo Road Construction

Wolf Point resident Bill Juve sounded elated Tuesday, Nov. 3, after the Roosevelt County Commissioners accepted a bid for construction on Rodeo Road, which Juve has long called for.
The commissioners voted unanimously to accept the only bid for the project, from Century Companies Inc. of Lewistown for $532,025. The bid calls for pulverization of existing asphalt with stabilization added.
Leveling and overlay had been considered, but that option was nixed.
In August, the commissioners approved a contract with Interstate Engineering of Nashua for engineering for the project.
Juve has long called for improvements to Rodeo Road. In July 2014, he told the commissioners that they had not honored a promise made in October 2013 to repair Rodeo Road before the end of spring 2014. Juve cited potholes causing wear and tear to vehicles.
In other business, the commissioners approved a resolution for tax compliance procedures for tax exempt property during 2016 and 2017 for the new Roosevelt County Jail. Bonds will be on sale Thursday, Nov. 5.
Construction for the jail ― approved by voters in November 2014 ― is slated to begin during spring 2016 with completion in 2017.
The commissioners voted to authorize the weed district to advertise a damaged 2012 Dodge pickup for sale for salvage. A new truck will be purchased.
The truck was wrecked in a single-vehicle rollover crash 15 miles north of Wolf Point Aug. 17. The Montana Highway Patrol reported in August that the truck rolled 1½ times on Roosevelt County Road 1725, about two miles west of Montana Hwy. 250, also known as Lustre Road.

100 Years Ago This Week For Nov. 5, 2015

It was all about the holidays in the Nov. 5, 1915 publication of The Searchlight. Local items included:
“Governor Stewart has issued the usual proclamation making Thursday, Nov. 25, Thanksgiving Day and the farmers are fattening their turkeys in anticipation thereof.”
“Halloween passed very quietly in Culbertson this year. Store windows were marked up with soap and a few clothes lines were out, but not nearly so many outhouses were turned over as usual.”
A 100-year-old ad is listed below.
“That Suit of Yours will look like New if you take it to CHRISTENSEN the TAILOR and have it Cleaned and Repaired. Next Door to the Telephone Exchange. Culbertson, Montana.”

Roosevelt County Jail Roster For Nov. 5, 2015

(Editor’s Note: The Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office distributes an inmate roster each week with charges and communities of residence to The Herald-News to help keep the public informed and to illustrate that the jail has been dealing with overcrowding issues in the 17-bed facility. Names on the jail roster are those of everyone incarcerated and persons booked into the jail during the previous week and does not necessarily mean there is a new charge or conviction. Some individuals might be serving time for a previous conviction.)
As of Monday, Nov. 2, eight inmates were housed in the Roosevelt County Jail. Valley County Detention Center was holding three females.
The RCSO reported that the following individuals were incarcerated at the jail between Monday, Oct. 26, and Monday, Nov. 2:
•Frank Baker, 33, Wolf Point, criminal possession of dangerous drugs;
•Amos Bridges, 39, Wolf Point, criminal contempt warrant;
•Jason Daugherty, 37, Wolf Point, criminal possession of dangerous drugs [two counts], criminal possession of drug paraphernalia, attempted assault on a peace officer or judicial officer and resisting arrest;
•Jason Fridge, 30, Williston, N.D., driving under the influence of any drug;
•Christopher L. Hovey, 26, Williston, N.D., out of county warrant;
•Kevyn Johannesson, 26, Williston, N.D., fleeing or eluding a peace officer, criminal endangerment and obstructing a peace officer;
•John Menz, 31, Poplar, driving under the influence, criminal child, possession of drug paraphernalia, criminal endangerment, driving under the influence - detectable level of intoxication and driver under the influence of any drug -  narcotics.
•Monte Walton, 35, Poplar, endangering the welfare of a child, violation of a protective order, first offense, criminal possession of dangerous drugs and criminal possession of drug paraphernalia.

Tumbleweed 4-H


Tumbleweed 4-H Club celebrated national  4-H week Oct. 4-8. This display was set up in front of the senior citizen center. They also had trivia every morning on the school announcements and hung posters up all around the school. Tumbleweed 4-H gained many new members this year. (Submitted photo)