CS Masthead

Ponders Street Closures

Bainville Town Council
The Bainville Town Council considered closing and vacating two streets during the monthly meeting, Monday, Sept. 8.
One of the closures is Tubman Street, between Clark and Fifth streets in front of Bainville School. The street is needed for a planned school expansion.
A second closure [Lincoln Avenue through a trailer court] is on hold because approval is needed from the Burlington Northern and Santa Fe railroad because the street is adjacent to tracks.
The council also discussed a renewal of a contract with Bowker Sanitation, but no decision was made because the town is still looking at preliminary numbers.

Bullock’s Rain Disaster Declaration Excludes Roosevelt County

Gov. Steve Bullock’s Rain Disaster Declaration issued Thursday, Sept. 4, excludes Roosevelt County, but includes Valley and several other Hi-Line counties.
Heavy August rains between Aug. 21 and 24 prompted the declaration for several eastern Montana counties.
In addition to Valley County, the declaration covers the counties of Petroleum and Musselshell, the town of Ekalaka and the Fort Belknap Indian Reservation.
The declaration comes as a result of a microburst that recorded winds in excess of 75 mph on Aug. 21 in Ekalaka, with debris from fallen or damaged trees causing significant damage to property.
Meanwhile, rainfall in excess of seven inches in a short period of time across central and north-central Montana caused the Milk and Musselshell rivers and tributaries to rapidly rise above major flood stage, damaging culverts, roadways and stock reservoirs.
The declaration will allow Bullock to mobilize state resources and the Montana National Guard, as well as expend funds to meet the contingencies and needs that may arise from the emergency.
“With the severity and intensity of the storms we saw last week and the damage that resulted, it is important that the state provide relief to those jurisdictions that need our assistance,” Bullock said.

Commissioners Approve Culbertson Subdivision

Roosevelt County Commissioners Gary Macdonald, Duane Nygaard and Jim Shanks  approved the preliminary plat for the five-lot Upland Creek Subdivision north of Cul-
bertson during their weekly meeting, Tuesday, Sept. 2.
In another matter, the commissioners approved a three-year contract renewal with Olness and Associates, the county’s CPA firm for annual audits.

Cowboy Hall Of Fame Seeks Nominations For Class Of 2015

The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center is seeking nominations for the 2015 Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame induction round.
Every year, the MCHF honors living and historical figures that have made notable contributions to Montana’s western heritage.
“The Hall of Fame nominations are open to the general public,” said Mark Larson, MCHF director, and chairman of the board of trustees. “We encourage all to reflect on notable contributions to our western heritage and help us celebrate by nominating those from your community you believe serve as an example for next generation.”
Next year will mark the fifth year the MCHF will honor living historical figures and the eighth year of honoring legacy (non-living) inductees.
One living inductee and two legacy inductees from each of the MCHF’s 12 trustee districts will be chosen from votes cast by the MCHF board of trustees based on nominations from the public.
Nominees are assigned to a trustee district for consideration based on the local area where their notable contributions were made.
Nominees can be men, women, ranches, stage coach lines, animals, hotels, etc. — anyone or anything that has made a notable contribution or serves as a notable example of our Montana western heritage.
A full listing of inductees from 2008-2014, the 2015 nomination criteria, and more about the Hall of Fame induction process can be found online at www.montanacowboyfame.org.
To make a nomination, contact the MCHF at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by calling 406-932-5444 prior to the submission deadline to express your intent to nominate. All nominations must complete and submitted by March 31.
The 2015 Class of the MCHF will be announced by press release by June 30. Winning inductees will be honored at the 2016 annual Circle the Wagons Gathering.

Roosevelt County Jail Roster For Sept. 11

(Editor’s Note: The Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office distributes an inmate roster each week with charges and communities of residence to The Herald-News and The Searchlight to illustrate that the jail has been dealing with overcrowding issues in the 17-bed facility.)
As of Monday, Sept. 8, 12 inmates were incarcerated, Valley County Detention Center was holding two females and the Fort Benton Detention Center was holding four males to alleviate overcrowding.
The RCSO reported that the following individuals were incarcerated at the jail as of Monday, Sept. 8: Adam Alonzo, 31, Williston, N.D./San Bernadino, Calif., criminal possession of dangerous drugs with intent to sell; Michael Conant, 34,  McCabe, partner family member assault, felony criminal mischief, felony assault on a peace officer; Scott Crain, 27 Froid, criminal possession of dangerous drugs, criminal possession of drug paraphernalia, obstructing a peace officer and misdemeanor criminal mischief; Andrew Giles, 32, Wolf Point, criminal contempt warrant and driving without a valid driver’s license; Tina Houim, 50, Tioga, N.D., criminal possession of dangerous drugs, criminal possession of drug paraphernalia and DUI; Gary Jones, 44, Mesa, Ariz., assault on a peace officer with injury; Jason Knight, 37, Spokane, Wash., criminal possession of drug paraphernalia; Timothy Oglesby, 31, Hot Springs, Ark., out of county warrant; Jeremy Sepanski, 30, Plentywood, forgery, theft, obstruction of a peace officer; Amber Taylor, 29, Wolf Point, criminal possession of dangerous drugs; Hilrio Velasquez, 33, Riverside, Calif., possession of dangerous drugs, criminal possession of drug paraphernalia; and Cameron Watson, 19, Malta, criminal possession of dangerous drugs [marijuana], criminal possession of dangerous drugs, and criminal possession of drug paraphernalia.