CS Masthead


Leslie Edward Rudolph

Leslie Edward Rudolph, 75, of Bainville, MT, passed away at his home in Bainville on Monday evening, June 11, 2018.
 In keeping with Leslie’s wishes, Cremation has taken place and there will be a graveside committal service at the Bainville Cemetery at 10:00 AM, Mountain on Friday, June 22, 2018.  There will be a reception at the Bainville Fire Hall immediately following the committal service.
 A complete obituary will be announced by Everson-Coughlin Funeral Home in Williston.
 Friends may visitwww.eversoncoughlin.comto share memories of Leslie or leave condolences for his family.

Macdonald, Norgaard To Face Off For Commissioner In November

Nineteen-year incumbent county commissioner Gary Macdonald of Poplar survived a challenge from three opponents as Roosevelt County primary election voters narrowed the field of candidates vying for the District 2 county commission nonpartisan seat from four to two Tuesday, June 5.
Macdonald garnering the most votes with Greg Norgaard of Poplar finishing second. They will face each other in the general election Tuesday, Nov. 6.
Macdonald received 194 votes and Norgaard got 134. Karli McGowan of Poplar received 87 votes and Brenda Redfield of Wolf Point got 84.
District 2 includes most of Poplar and the north side of Wolf Point east of Fourth Avenue North.
Road Fund Special Mill Levy
Voters county-wide reauthorized the Roosevelt County road fund special mill levy for another six years by a vote of 381-246.
It is a renewal of a levy voters approved six years ago.
It levies taxes at eight mills and raises $252,363 per year. It is the county’s main source of revenue for purchasing, crushing and spreading gravel throughout Roosevelt County.
Property taxpayers can expect an annual impact of $10.80 on a home valued at $100,000 and $21.60 on a $200,000 residence.
Only 25.2 percent of registered Roosevelt County voters cast ballots. According to the Secretary of State’s Office, voter turnout was low throughout Montana.
Other County Local Offices
Only two candidates filed for each of three county elected positions: sheriff, county attorney and Justice of the Peace Post 2, Culbertson district. There was no primary for those positions.
Sheriff: Incumbent sheriff Jason Frederick of Poplar is running for a second term with opposition from Vernon First of Fort Kipp.
County attorney: Incumbent Ralph “Jim” Patch of Wolf Point is running for reelection with opposition from Austin Knudsen of Culbertson.
Justice of the Peace Post 2 [eastern Roosevelt County]: Incumbent Penny Hendrickson of Culbertson is running for reelection with opposition from Wayne Webster of Froid.
Running for reelection unopposed are clerk and recorder Cheryl Hansen of Wolf Point, Justice of the Peace post 1, Traci Harada of Wolf Point and treasurer/assessor Betty Romo of Bainville.

Commissioners Discuss Froid Library Woes

At the regular meeting of the Roosevelt County commissioners Tuesday, May 29, the commissioners heard about the heating and cooling woes of the building housing the Froid Public Library.

Read more: Commissioners Discuss Froid Library Woes

Rosendale, Williams To Face Tester, Gianforte

Republican Matt Rosendale, the current state auditor, will face incumbent Sen. Jon Tester (D-Mont.) who is seeking a third six-year term, in the November general election, and Democrat Kathleen Williams will face incumbent one-term U.S. Rep. Greg Gianforte (R-Mont.).
Neither the GOP primary for the U.S. Senate nor the Democratic primary for the Congressional seat held Tuesday, June 5 was won with majorities. Both Rosendale and Williams won with pluralities of about one-third of votes cast statewide. Rosendale won with 34 percent and Williams edged John Heenan 34 percent to 32 percent in a tight race that was not decided until Wednesday, June 6.
If elected in November, Williams, a former state lawmaker from Bozeman, would be the first woman elected to the U.S. House from Montana since 1941. The GOP has held Montana’s lone congressional seat for more than two decades.
Rosendale received 326 votes in Roosevelt County, followed by Russ Fagg with 223, Troy Downing with 120 and Albert Olszewski with 90.
The Montana Secretary of State’s Office reported the following statewide results: Rosendale, 51,549; Fagg, 43,225; Downing, 29,151; and Olszewski, 28,558.
Green Party results for the U.S. Senate primary were: Steve Kelly, 19, 955 statewide; and Timothy Adams, 1, 619 statewide.
Tester was not challenged in the Democratic primary. He received 594 votes in Roosevelt County and 113,815 statewide. There were four Democratic write-in votes in Roosevelt County.
Democratic congressional primary results were split six ways. The six included former State Senator Lynda Moss of Billings who withdrew from the race prior to the primary. Her name remained on the ballot. Moss finished in fourth place statewide and in Roosevelt County.
Roosevelt County results: Williams, 211; Heenan, 125; John Meyer, 78; Moss, 67; Grant Kier, 38; Jared Pettinato, 27; and write-in votes, 3.
Statewide results: Williams, 37,146; Heenan, 35,154; Kier, 26,832; Moss, 5,592; Meyer, 3,684; Pettinato, 2,440.
Gianforte was not challenged in the Republican primary. He received 717 votes in Roosevelt County. There were seven write-in votes. He received 135,597 votes statewide.
Results of Other Partisan Races
Public Service commissioner Democrat: Doug Kaercher, 514; write-in, 3. Statewide, Kaercher, 14,435.
Public Service commissioner Republican: Rob Cook, 186; Mark Wicks, 152; Cory McKinney, 129; Randy Pinocci, 126; and write-in votes, 4. Statewide: Cook, 7,260; McKinney, 3,430; Pinocci, 8,130; Wicks, 4,665.
Clerk of the Supreme Court Democrat [Roosevelt County results only]: Rex Renk, 516; write-in, 2.
Clerk of the Supreme Court Republican [Roosevelt County results only]: Bowen Greenwood, 597; write-in, 2.
State representative District 31 Democrat: Bridget Smith, 442; write-in 1.
State representative District 31 Republican: write-in, 24.
State representative District 34 Democrat: no candidate; 16 write-ins.
State representative District 34 Republican: Rhonda Knudsen, 306, write-in, 10.
Low Voter Turnout
Only 25.17 percent of registered Roosevelt County voters cast ballots. In contrast, The Billings Gazette reported a 43 percent voter turnout in Yellowstone County. According to the Secretary of State’s Office, the statewide voter turnout was 41.43 percent, the highest statewide mid-term primary turnout in recent years.

Commissioners Approve Jail Agreement With Tribes

The Roosevelt County Commissioners approved a memorandum of understanding with the Fort Peck Tribes to house up to 10 prisoners in the Roosevelt County Detention Center at a special meeting Monday, June 6.

Read more: Commissioners Approve Jail Agreement With Tribes